the cake is just for show

sleeping in silk for safety; a nest
i only wanted to give you a name
buying in suede to win a night’s rest
dreams of glitter drip through my brain

i, ever searching for this pearly sheen
fairy dust stuck to the soles of my shoes
take weight off my shoulders, lighten me
but i’d rather shop than sit watching the news

where do you keep it, this faraway song
latex and lashings of shining faux fur
i’m always wishing, drifting along
unwrapping, unboxing, a shimmery blur

i only wanted to warm up my feet
cash in your cheque, spend all the dollar
dressing correctly just / off the beat
velvet and lace, lush from hem to the collar

give me a shelter, tell me my star sign
it’s on my tongue, oh it’s just on the tip of it
i only ever wanted what was mine
i only ever wanted what was mine
i only ever wanted what was mine

the cake is just for show

Leave a Reply

